blog blog

Soccer, mostly, but some other stuff, too

Trophy Life

Major League Soccer has announced a redesign of its championship trophy. It’ll award the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy to the winning team at MLS Cup on Sunday, November 23. By my count, this is the third different piece of hardware in the league’s 13 seasons.

DC United won the first two Alan I. Rothenberg Trophies, named for the league’s founder:

Alan Rothenberg Trophy

DC also won the first redesigned Rothenberg Trophy in 1999, seen below next to the new version:

Alan Rothenberg TrophyPhillip Anschutz Trophy

As you might expect, the new trophy declined to speak to reporters.