kenn.com blog

kenn.com blog

Soccer, mostly, but some other stuff, too

Posts filed under Work

Highlights: USL Pro Game of the Week

Here are highlights of the first USL Pro Game of the Week broadcast from this past weekend. Rochester beat Harrisburg 1-0 to take over first place in the National Division. For the first broadcast out of the box, it was fine. We still have some things to work on, as you might expect. This week… (read more)

And That’s…A Goal

Actually, it was a bit more dramatic than that, as Rochester Rhinos’ goalkeeper Neal Kitson scored this stoppage-time equalizer last Sunday evening to give the Rhinos a 2-2 draw with Antigua Barracuda FC in a USL Pro match. It’s unlikely Kitson will get on the scoresheet again anytime soon (he’s the first Rochester ‘keeper ever… (read more)

Change In The Weather

Phoenix is back on the pro indoor soccer map. The Professional Arena Soccer League announced Wednesday it has granted Valley businessman Stuart Starkey (at left in the photo above, with PASL Commissioner Kevin Milliken) an expansion franchise that will begin play this fall in the PASL-Pro. (This is not a surprise to those of you… (read more)

I Don’t Think I’ll Ever Get Over Casa Grande

Quick programming note: for a couple of hours, at least, I’m back in Major League Soccer. I’ll be calling the webcast of this afternoon’s New York Red Bulls/FC Dallas spring scrimmage live on www.newyorkredbulls.com starting at 4pm MT/6pm ET today from Grande Sports World in Casa Grande, Arizona.

Programming Note

I’ll be broadcasting the Class 4A Division II basketball championships this morning on www.aia365.com and KAZG-AM 1440. The girls’ game (at 10am MT, Noon ET) features defending state champion Chandler Seton Catholic against Thunderbird (you can see that game here) and the boys’ game (scheduled for Noon MT, 2pm ET) matches #1 seed Tucson Amphitheater… (read more)

Let’s Twist Again…

It was 15 years ago today – February 22, 1996 – that the Continental Indoor Soccer League announced an expansion franchise for Indianapolis, Indiana that eventually became known as the Twisters. I was fortunate enough to be the team’s radio announcer for the two summers that it played in the CISL, and am considering producing… (read more)

More Of The Glamorous Life

Ah, the life of a bigshot sports announcer. Analyst Chet Gole and I were fortunate enough to call a really good high school basketball game last night between Boulder Creek and Deer Valley on AIA365.com. The surroundings were kind of spartan, but we were thrilled to have the opportunity and hopefully will get to do… (read more)